Hello, I'm Ben ... a late-start guitar player looking for community

My name’s Ben and I’ve been playing guitar for about 5 years, I started late-ish at 23. The general atmosphere in Justin’s videos leads me to believe the community must be one of the more friendly, accepting ones around, hence signing up.

My personal philosophy with guitar is that I want to be free with it as a medium for expression and mental health maintenance. That said, really enjoying many of the JustingGuitar videos exploring guitar/music philosophy. The recent ones on chord extensions with common shapes are also very creative and inspiring. It’s something I’ve employed for some time in my own music; I’d wager 40~60% of the chords I use in my songs are extensions or common shapes moved around the neck that abuse open strings.

I hope to be able to bring something to the community by being here, but it’s hard because I’m not too terribly skilled, and often second guess what I have to say and end up not saying anything at all.

Bonus facts:
My favorite guitarist is Elliott Smith, I mostly play acoustic, played 5 live solo sets, have 15 original songs, have yet to be in a band, working on rhythm sense so currently dating my metronome.

13 Likes

Hi Ben,
Welcome, I’m new here too. I’ve been working through the beginner lessons. One of the nicer fora to visit in my limited experience.
Cheers,
Greg

1 Like

Hi Ben,

I started here about 1.5 years ago. I hope you find the folks here as friendly as I do.

23 is not a late start for this crowd - just look at the images on the front page of the community site. :slight_smile:

I encourage you to look around the categories on that front page and dive into one to look at the topics. I’ve barely scratched the surface of the things to read and learn here.

Welcome!

2 Likes

Welcome Ben. 23 is definitely not late, plenty of people here started later than that. It’s quite a welcoming community, feel free to share some videos in the AVOYP area

1 Like