Hello - Nigel from Northern Ireland. Where am I going

Hi folks, my name is Nigel and I’m from Ireland:). This is my first post on a forum like this. I’ve been learning the guitar for about ten years (I’m 47), been through a few tutors but mostly following people like Justin online and trying to make progress on songs I like. I’ve tried to learn some theory but find it a big struggle to tbh.
I just want to be ‘fairly good’, to play songs I like, cool licks and some lead. I don’t know if I’ll ever be fairly good tho… which is why I’m pontificating like this.
I can play most open chords fairly well, and most barre chords. There are lots of songs I can play, my musical taste is varied and I like anything from classic rock rock, late 70s/early 80s post punk & new wave to '90s British indie stuff.
But like many wannabe guitarists I get very frustrated. Sometime I find myself making progress on songs, then hit a brick wall… and no matter how much practice I put in that wall still seems to be there. Currently finding it with Springsteen’s ‘I’m on Fire’
My general approach to the guitar has always been to learn songs, I’ve sometimes attempted scales but there’s never been a proper structure to practice and lay down some important foundations.
That’s why I’m thinking of following one of Justin’s courses. Given what I know, I definitely don’t need to start the beginner one but I probably should dive into it somewhere and take it from there.
I would just like to hear from anyone who is either doing, or has completed any of Justin’s courses. What is the best approach to get the most out of them, particularly to discipline yourself to stick at it and make proper progress?
Discipline is one of my biggest drawbacks: I start something with best intentions (like scales) and then after a good attempt, I’m putting that effort into learning another song…
Anyway, for those who go through to the end… thanks for reading!

9 Likes

Hello Nigel and welcome to the community. :slight_smile: