Hey Everyone!- Mark from Atlanta, GA Checking In

Hey everybody! I’m Mark, and I live in the Atlanta metro area. After years of thinking about it, at 58 I finally decided to get serious about learning guitar. As an official “Old Guy” I introduced myself over on the “Old Dogs” thread but figured it would be good to introduce myself here as well.

I have some musical experience but it was a long time ago. I played trombone in high school but after 1980 I didn’t pick up an instrument until 1999 when I first tried to learn guitar. A mix of too much work, not enough practice and not finding a method that worked for me led to me stopping about a year later.

Fast forward to three weeks ago and the urge to get finally serious about guitar hit me hard. I did a bunch of searching, found Justin and I immediately connected with his teaching style, sense of humor and general humbleness.

I bought a Yamaha Pacifica 112v and Line 6 amp and started Grade 1 last week. I have good flexibility in my work schedule so I’m able to practice both morning and evening. Fingers are sore but I’m really enjoying practice. A couple days ago I picked up a Yamaha FS800 acoustic to take with me on our upcoming road trips. I enjoy classic rock, heavy metal, Chicago/Texas blues and Jazz. There are lots of songs I want to be able to learn/play so I’m hoping I can build my skills and learn a bunch of them so I can start building my set-list for the party I’m going to throw when I turn 100!

Outside of work (I’m CFP providing retirement readiness services to employees of client companies) and guitar I’m a runner/fitness geek, craft beer lover and 2-channel audio nut.

Looking forward to becoming part of the community and enjoying my guitar playing journey!

11 Likes

I am pretty sure you will have fun here :partying_face: - Hey Mark and welcome to this awesome community. Wish you a fun and most enjoyable guitar journey :cowboy_hat_face: :sunglasses: :pray:

1 Like

Welcome, Mark!!!
Have fun!

1 Like