Hey, how ya doin? Todd here

Hi,

I’m Todd. I’m a college lecturer (philosophy and medical humanities), paramedic, and bicycle mechanic by trade.

I’ve actually owned a guitar for over twenty years, but it sat, collecting dust, for many of those years. My dad got me the guitar, and lessons, sometime in middle school (grades 6-8). But, while I enjoyed the lessons, it often conflicted with the swim meets/practices (my main sport growing up), and swimming won out quickly.

Skip a decade or so, and when I was in grad school, one of my friends, a violinist, borrowed my guitar for a while. So, until recently, she had probably played it more than I had!

I found Justin a few years ago, and even purchased the app, but never used it! A couple months ago, something got me to really try it out. So, here’s to continuing that habit! Third time’s a charm?

Research shows that practicing music has some of the same mental health benefits as meditation, and I think that’s been true for me thus far. I really enjoy the practice time. Also, learning new skills is gratifying. I’m an avid cyclist, and a few years ago, I learned trackstands (balancing on a bike in one spot), and while it took many weeks of dedicated practice on little baby steps leading up to it, there was something so gratifying when it finally clicked in my mind. I’d say it’s the same with learning new things on the guitar.

Well, those were my thoughts on starting lessons with Justin’s app. I’m currently on grade 1, module 4.

Oh, and a couple weeks ago, I got a setup done on my guitar by the tech at the shop where my dad got me the guitar all those years ago. It has improved the playability and tone of the guitar immensely. I highly recommend it!

Best Wishes,
Todd

14 Likes

Hello Todd, so nice to meet you :hugs:.
It seems, that something in the universe always wanted you to play guitar - and now, the time is ripe :wink:.