Hi from Jason in Surrey UK, another cancer victim stuck at home

Got diagnosed with cancer at Xmas and just had major bowel and liver surgery. Now signed off for 3 months and don’t want to waste it.

Always fancied playing the guitar so starting tomorrow with the first Justin lesson. Got a friends old acoustic guitar but looking at getting an electric soon. Been reading review after review on budget electric guitars.

Anyway looking forward to starting and getting my mind into something good. Good to say Hi!

16 Likes

Hey Jason, welcome to the forum. Great to meet you. I started playing about 12 years ago after dreaming about it for all my life. Got cancer shortly afterwards and am now cancer free, here’s to your freedom from cancer!!! The guitar has been a great thing to have during recovery and continues to be good for my soul. It’s a challenge at first, but hang in there as the rewards are amazing and so very worth it. Look forward to hearing more from you.

6 Likes

Hi Jason and welcome. Good luck with your guitar journey and more importantly good luck kicking cancer. I hope you have a lot of fun learning to play.

2 Likes

Jason

Like a few others here I can empathise with your experience of cancer. I had my bowel cancer diagnosis, quite afew years ago now, on Christmas Eve! Hope your recovery goes well and any continuing treatment, chemo-, radio-therapy, whatever, can be as quick as possible and your recovery likewise.

Enjoy playing guitar. You’ll findlots of good company and advice here.

Brian

4 Likes

Welcome, Jason. lots of decent budget electrics out there, hope you find one you like soon. And good luck kicking that cancer beast!

2 Likes

Hi Jason,
I wish you all the best and hope that you can gain strength from this… music can produce beautiful things, especially if you make it yourself… good luck and I wish you a lot of distraction from the bad and have fun here and with guitar…
Greetings,Rogier

2 Likes