How much music theory is enough?

Whilst waiting for Justin to complete beginner Grade 3 and whilst consolidating my guitar playing skills I took a plunge and got some Music Theory books and read them. I’m also considering getting subscription for Justin’s music theory course. Now, the thing is, as I saw from the books I read (Complete Idiot’s Guide to Music theory and Music Theory for Dummies) it’s extremely deep area and has some topics that give some serious headaches. However I liked the fact that I learnt why I like some music and why I don’t like some other things. For example I realized that my animosity towards jazz stems from fact that it’s “free-form” music style with very little structure beneath it. It truly sounds chaotic to my ears. Now, I’m not saying it’s bad genre and don’t wanna hurt anyone feelings but I do find it chaotic music and one which I simply can’t stand. Also, I realized that most of the advanced concepts (9th chords, 11th’s, 13th’s and many other complex topics) apply heavily to jazz and mostly experimental/avant-garde genres. Also, I learnt about counterpoint and realized why the classical music that uses such technique doesn’t sound right to me. Having two different melodies in song simply do not sound nice to me. Perhaps I listened too much of pop/simple stuff, but doesn’t matter.