How To Tune A Guitar For Beginners Lesson on JustinGuitar

Don't start playing if you don’t know how to tune your guitar! Get used to the right sound! :)

View the full lesson at How To Tune A Guitar For Beginners | JustinGuitar

I have a G-force tuner built-in to my guitar, do you have any experience with these? How accurate are they?

1 Like

@dhh welcome to the community Hugh
Yes the built-in tuner in your guitar is just fine.
Enjoy your guitar journey

1 Like

i use the guitartuna app, is it fine?

2 Likes

Hello @Kenny6 welcome to the Community.
I haven’t used it but many people do and it works fine.

Cheers :smiley:
| Richard_close2u | JustinGuitar Official Guide & Moderator

I am brand brand new to guitar playing, I bought this one Ortega OCST-1BK Clip On Tuner and it seems to be doing OK. :slight_smile:

1 Like

Hi John, as you’ll hear Justin say many times, if it sounds good, it IS good! Same with that clip-on tuner. Welcome to the Community! Feel free to drop an introductory post here #community-hub:introduce-yourself. We all enjoy getting a bit of backstory from new members - what brings you here, when did you start playing, what do you want to be able to play, what kind of guitar you have, etc.

1 Like

I’m trying my best to tune my guitar through online resources but I am not convinced it is right yet. :confused: My guitar (fender strat) tends to sound like the recordings I’m listening to online but deeper and not as bright or brassy as the examples (accoustic). I can’t figure out if this is just a difference in sound based on the guitar or whether I’m doing something wrong. Any possible clarity on this would be appreciated. :grinning:

1 Like

@suzieq

Try checking your individual strings against these reference tones from Justin:
https://soundcloud.com/justinguitar/sets/guitar-tuning-notes

Then check simple chords against these references from Justin:
https://soundcloud.com/justinguitar/sets/justins-beginner-guitar-course-examples