I want to play a 2nd guitar part using triads & others are using open chord shapes with capos

I am new to this and have no idea if this is the right place to post this or maybe it’s such a daft question I shouldn’t be asking it. Here goes.
I jam with other players who play in the first position, I want to play triads to add some variety however when they add a capo at the second or third fret to get the pitch for their voices, I get lost. Is there a clever way of finding the positions or transposing to the key they are playing.

1 Like

Good for you! Comping is how I got started learning the fret board and eventually got invited to play on some Sunset Blvd bar gigs with a friend pre-COVID.

Learn your triads, the notes on the fretboard, some scales, and you are free of a capo altogether even if the other players are using one. It can seem like 3D chess at first but you’ll get the idea if you work through it.

So:

1. Learn your triad shapes and how they are movable and what they become across the neck. You can comp any song.
  2. At the very least get the major and minor pentatonic scales under your fingers. You can play fills and solos on anything.
  3. Learn the chords in a key. You can feel/see/hear/anticipate where to go musically.
  4. Ask what key the song is in – if they don’t know you can still figure it out based on an understanding of triads. Example: Capo 1 D major is an Eb, etc.

Hopefully this is helpful and not overwhelming. :slight_smile:

Thank you, yes a bit overwhelming. I know a few triad shapes and some scales but am unsure how to use them for example a tune in C, F, G, Am. I can arpeggio the triads but when the others are playing C should I play C major scale. Not surreal what you mean about learning the chords in a key. Sorry to be a bit dim.

You could or play C major pentatonic 2 less notes to deal with.
When the song goes to the F play Cminor pentatonic. Over the G and Am play the C Major pentatonic. On the Am target the note A.