January 2024, Refugee (Tom Petty) Dido - Thank You Cover

Hey guys just experimenting around with this with all the new plugins and such, i know the quality and I know its distorted in parts, I did that on purpose lol. Im still learning haha! The end is not perfect as its not in sync with the video. I spent 5 hours on this one. I was rushing to put it all together!!! Hope you guys like it! Maybe i could get it sounding better if i spent more time with it for sure. Having a full time job dont help lol. Cheers have fun and enjoy! :slight_smile: Just updated everything is in sync now!! :slight_smile: I took out the distortion on my vocals on the 2nd chrous part. Plus a tad less reverb! :smiley:

Heres another song! Just me and the guitar!!! :slight_smile: Love this song is so beautiful!!! Enjoy!

14 Likes

Hi Bytron, that’s a superb home production for only five hours :open_mouth:
-no need for all the ‘qualifiers’ :wink:
You picked on of the handful of Petty songs I really like.
I enjoyed inclusion of all the different video elements.
On a personal taste level, I’d prefer a tad less reverb on the vocals.
Most singers would say you get a better result standing while singing, but hey- I’m an armchair crooner myself :rofl:

1 Like

Super production Byron. You’re really coming to grips with all your new tech and equipment.
It’s a great song and I enjoyed your version.

Awesome job Byron, very impressive production.

Hey Brian thanks for the comment! Haha yeah i just prefer sitting down while i sing, just easier with my setup i have. I may retweak it some and repost it as the original video post. Thanks for the tip may have to do a little less reverb! :smiley: I love Tom Petty especially Running Down A Dream song.

Byron

Excellent rendition of a song I didn’t know - till now! All the drive and rock that Tom would have delivered.

Brian

1 Like

Thanks brian! Glad you liked it! :slight_smile: Just updated it guys as well!! :slight_smile: