John Shodan Log

Hey folks,
So I thought as I am right at the beginning of my journey, now is a good a time as any to start a log… Although I’m not sure how often I’ll update it as historically, I am not good at diaries and these things.

However, I’ve found in previous learnings in life, it is good to reflect on the recently completed session and figure out what went right, what went wrong and little notes for further consideration for the next session so I may use this log for those reasons…

So three days ago on the 7th September, I decided to learn guitar. I have no previous knowledge or experience of music other than listening to it, which I love to do.
Found a second hand guitar locally and picked it up. This was literally the first time I had ever touched a guitar.
By this time I had found this place on line and had a look at some of the videos on youtube and knew I wanted this to be my teacher.

So over the last couple of days I have been (hurting my fingers) having a play with the guitar to try to become more familiar with it and I have been working on strumming, tapping, counting and chords D and A.
So this morning I used the Practice Routine system and set up a routine which covered practising the D and the A separately, changing between them both with the Anchor finger trick, chord changes in 1 minute and 5 minutes of song practice.
I have added Dance The Night Away, Born in The USA and You Never Can Tell so I have options on how to practice the same thing.

I even factored a 10 minute break after practising chords and practising a song.

The whole thing was scheduled to be 33 minutes but took over an hour because I got carried away in some area’s and had to take other breaks at other times.

ABSOLUTELY LOVED IT!!!

Now the ultimate aim of all this is to play music and songs and that is why practising in the style of a song is so important at the end.

I had to stop at one point because I was laughing so much at myself!