July Thread: June is a Comin'; Dana Lyons (cover); This Is (Aslan cover)

I know, I know, I’m supposed to be practicing for next week’s livestream, but after playing Cows with Guns at last the last OM, I had a hankering to learn another Dana Lyons song.
I love the mix of beauty and hardship in this poignant song.
(Also, sharing this now removes the possibility of me chickening out and performing it instead of the ‘edgier’ one I have planned for next week :laughing:)
It’s a bit rough ‘n’ ready, but I hope you enjoy :smiley:

What’s wrong with me? Yet another distraction :roll_eyes:
Last month, Christy Dignam the lead singer of Dublin band, Aslan, died from cancer.
Although the band never achieved the international success of some of their Celtic stablemates, they were a solid fixture of the Irish music scene for decades. Christy had a tough life suffering sexual abuse as a child and struggling with heroin addiction as an adult.

I started learning my favourite Aslan song after he died but struggled figuring out a strumming pattern and programming a backing track. It took me a while to get the phrasing to an acceptable level.
I had to record it today to get it out of my head and move on.
Well worth checking out the original here after listening to my effort!
RIP Christy

16 Likes

I needed this in my life today, thank you Brian. I know, the lyrics are melancholic, but you really made me smile :slightly_smiling_face:

Mindful listening and all … I love the seagulls’ call at the end. Which might not be coincidence, I presume… And, yes, no seagulls on our yard at work right now :dodo:

Bravo @brianlarsen another very enjoyable song…and a reminder I need to listen to your cow song! (how high are you strumming up that guitar neck :open_mouth:)

Not that rough ‘n’ ready Brian and I certainly did enjoy!!
:+1: :clap:

I should be so rough and ready, Brian :wink: