Just another future guitar player saying "hello" from Spain

Hi! My name is Javier (41) from Madrid, Spain.

After some time reading the community I think it is the moment to take the mic and introduce myself.

20 years ago I was a young and mind-monkey boy who loves music and was curious about playing it. My parents gifted me an Ibanez starter pack and I began to try to learn. Just to justify me (only a bit) 20 years ago youtube didn’t exist, the Internet was slow, and trying self-taught meant going through two CDs burned with a flash guitar course where the most exciting part was " Amazing Grace"… yep, a year later I quit.

Fast forward 15 years.

My firstborn was born and I felt that my curiosity about guitar came back again. This time I saw youtube videos where crazy-fast shredders showed you the last and definitive 5 tricks to learn to play guitar… and cute cats videos… all mixed… I learned a lot. Do you know that if a cat has three colors she is a female?. I failed again. I felt that I needed a guide. All the information was there, but all mixed and without any plan. Anyway, this time I didn’t quit. I made my own plan with the things I felt I laked so my progression was slow and time-demandant, but yep, I learned some things.

In '20, with some free time due to the lockdown, I found Justin Guitar and the journey began again. But this time I feel it is working. The course is well structured and it grows my confidence. Now I use to pick my guitar(s) almost every day and my children (now I have a horde of them) ask me to play it and are really curious about it. At this moment I’m about to finish the second grade and planning to come back and revisit the previous lessons to assure the most difficult parts are under control… at least until Justin finishes recording the whole grade 3.