Metronome alternative?

Can someone please advise me on the best (and cheapest ) way to play very basic drum accompaniments on my PC. I have been using a metronome but its getting on my nerves now. I have looked at Beatbuddy and Boss Rythm units but they look like overkill. I am only a beginner and want to use it to improve my strumming and chord change practice and maybe play alongside the few songs that i`ve learned.
Sorry if this has been covered already ( I did search -honest. ) :smiley:

1 Like

There’s a few Phone apps that are worth looking at, like Loopz.

Or, on the PC, you could get a Drum machine like Hydrogen. If you use a DAW, many of those come with drum loops. There’s also tools like EZDrummer.

But the easiest for pre-canned drum loops is to use drum backing tracks. Check out Lumbeat on Youtube for a load of cool ones.

Cheers,

Keith

4 Likes

thanks–that Lumbeat might just do the job. Will look at EZD later.

Oh, I just remembered: a nice PC tool is Tonelib GFX which includes a bunch of drum backing tracks, as well as an Ideas recorder, and some other tools.

It’s got a free trial and it’s on special offer at the moment.

Cheers,

Keith

Now feeling a bit stupid—never thought about youtube

Hi Tommion,
Ha ha …Don`t feel that way .Sometimes the most obvious goes unseen…did I say sometimes?..a lot of times :blush:
Greetings,Rogier

1 Like

I have a free App on my Android Smartphone, it’s called Metro Drum and it’s so much fun to strum along :blush: But I also use the Metronome for practice :blush:

1 Like

If you have an I phone Garage Band is on it and it’s free

1 Like

Use the built in practice assistant on the JustinGuitar site. It has a built in metronome that is not very intrusive.
You will get the best of two worlds:
A structured practice routine
A nice metronome that is programmable

1 Like