My first video - Wish You Were Here Practice

Hi everyone,

Here is my first video upload. I first learned the chords for this song when I started learning about two years ago. I added the riff probably a year ago and now I am going back to try to get the timing and feel nailed down.

Wish You Were Here Pratice

Over the past couple of weeks I’ve been working on 16th note counting and trying to apply it to this song, both in the riff and in the chords.

My playing in this video has plenty of mistakes, but this is a pretty good representation of where I’m at right now.

I know I still need a lot of work to get where I want to be on this song, so I would really appreciate any feedback you have, especially if you can help me identify any bad habits that I should be correcting.

Thank you!

14 Likes

Looking and sounding good, Rob. Beyond my play-grade to comment on the timing relative to the original and the metronome. Everything looked super relaxed to me, really economical, controlled movement of the fingers. Great tone. Keep on keeping on and you’ll soon get to the level of performance you are aiming for.

Well done Rob. You look and sound connected with the timing, the chord grips, picking and strumming. Plenty to be proud of here.

Hi Rob, that was a fine debut :smiley:
Nice steady strumming with clean chords; picking too.
If you like singing, you should definitely start incorporating that now- it’s such fun!
Beautiful guitar and nice clean tone.
One thing I noticed was most of the times when you strum the G chord, you leave out the 6th string, but occasionally include it. Is that intentional? (Justin says he often prefers to leave it out). It sounds fine, but you need to be aware of what you’re doing, otherwise you just develop the habit. I know I do.
Bravo! :sunglasses:

Nicely done Rob and congrats on a fine first upload.
You have a smooth and easy vibe going on with this, it is clearly developed over solid sessions practicing.