My Looping Setup

I had a few messages after OM22 asking about my setup, and encouragement to do a post about it so I’m happy to oblige. Like many of us here, I picked up my first ‘ditto’ single track looper somewhere in the middle of Justin’s Blues guitar lessons. I just wanted to be able to create a quick backing track so I could practice over.

But after a while I started to think, ‘this would be a lot better with a chorus’…and then it snowballed.

Caveat

First of all let me state I’m not very experienced at this at all. I’m very much in the early stages of learning. I just checked and the first time I tried to use the looper as part of a song was when Justin hosted a Christmas open mic, 15 months ago (and yup, it didn’t work out as intended that time either) .

There are a lot of resources and videos online. However I do have to say that for me at least, while youtube videos may provide guidance on how to use tools, or what specific settings do, or inspiration, I really needed to just experiment to understand how to manipulate it. Modern loopers are so configurable that you can ( and I would say should) set them up for a way that makes sense for you.

I’m a better computer programmer than I am guitarist. That may work in my favour in terms of how I organize information and remember/manipulate settings, pedal mappings, etc.….but I do think anyone could learn it with practice.

And finally with respect to my setup, it is always evolving. I keep thinking of things that would make it easier -and the answer is usually ‘more pedals’… someone please stop me.

My Tech

RC600 Looper BOSS - RC-600 | Loop Station
The main workhorse and my first multi-track looper, so I can’t do much of a comparison with others but my general thoughts are as follows.