Oliver’s learning log

Hi all. Thought I’d pop a post up to start recording my progress. I’m very new to guitar, have got a little way into ukulele in the past, and for the last year or so have been playing around with a Seagull Merlin stick dulcimer which I’ve really enjoyed.

I’ve started right at the beginning of the app, initially playing on my wife’s budget classical guitar, then yesterday we went out and I bought a Sigma DT-1 dreadnought. My wife accidentally bought herself another ukulele too!

The new guitar is much more comfortable to form chords with the slimmer neck, looks lovely, and even at my level sounds much nicer.

Goals are to be able to play through a few songs at some point. I’d really like to be able to play a few campfire songs for our Sea Scout group, and as a proper gen-x tragic would like to be able to play some Nirvana, MTV unplugged style. Part of the reason I like the Martin-style Sigma is that it’s a little bit like Kurt’s D-18.

4 Likes

Hi Oliver, good to v-meet you and welcome along on the journey. Great for you to have an instrument that “fits” you and hope it propels you forward. Justin’s process is spot on so I wish you the best of luck and above all fun on your journey. Look forward to hearing your progress :+1:

Hey Oliver, great stuff. Glad to see you are contributing to the community. I remember upgrading to a better guitar once I’d proved to myself I’d made enough progress. Makes a difference for sure.

I haven’t proved I’ve made any progress! But I’ve enjoyed the dulcimer, sufficiently that I’m confident that I’m OK with stringed and fretted instruments. I played flute and recorder and sang in the choir at school so I’ve got some music basics but had never really played anything with strings.

Welcome Oliver. Won’t take you too long to get into some Nirvana classics, a lot of their stuff is reasonably straightforward.