Online v in person lessons

Does anybody have experience in taking 1-2-1 online lessons? I’ve always thought that having lessons in person would be better, especially for me as I can feel pretty awkward whenever I’m talking on FaceTime or the phone ect. Think I’d do much better in a ‘real life’ situation, but the problem is finding a good teacher local to me.

Im just trying to work out the pros and cons of what’s best :man_shrugging:

Does anyone have any experiences they could share? The good, the bad. Cheers :v:

2 Likes

My experience of lessons wasn’t great. The teacher I had was clearly knowledgeable but was talking about concepts way above my head. The thing was I didn’t know what a series of lessons for a complete beginner should look like back then whereas now I’ve done Justin’s grade 1, I now know what he should have been teaching me.

It’s a lot about the teacher you get (and also about you following up on whatever they’ve taught you of course). I think now I know better I’d want to have a chat with them to see if we were on the same page or not and have some idea about what the weeks ahead might look like. The lessons I took had no structure at all.

For me personally I’m happy to continue without a tutor. I can learn at my pace and practice in a way that works for me. When I want feedback I know that I can post a video on these forums and some kind folks will help me out. That said we do all learn differently and maybe if I’d found a tutor that I gelled with I’d be saying something different right now

5 Likes