Out of tune with a capo

Hi Everyone,

I have hardly used the capo up to now. I started learning the song « Rise » by Gabrielle which is actually a sample of « knocking on heaven’s door ». The capo goes on the 1st fret.

My problem is that when I play along to the original or to Justin in the video lesson, my guitar sounds horribly out of tune with the capo. So I checked it with a tuner and sure enough the notes are sharper than they should be.

I have a Squier classic vibe 60’s tele with tallish frets. I can see that the capo pushes the strings down so hard that they are bent out of tune. So I tried to put the capo as close as possible to the fret and even on the fret. It helps a bit but not enough to sound fully in tune to the original or to Justin.

So my questions are: Am I doing something wrong? Do I have the wrong sort of capo, i.e. is it pushing down to hard on the strings? If so what is the right capo for a guitar like this? Is it the fret height that’s the problem? I.e. if I had frets that were not so tall, would I reduce/eliminate this problem?

Any advice very welcome.

Ian

Hi Ian,
That’s very common and Justin often emphasizes that you should always retune your guitar when you put your Capo on it… I don’t understand why that goes well with the people on TV Although I often see them being re-tuned… some guitars have it worse than others. but I always have to retune my 4 guitars when I put one on (I have 4 different capo`s but now I only use one for 3 years)
Greetings,Rogier

1 Like
  1. Capo radius should match your guitar’s fretboard radius
  2. Put it as close to a fret as possible
  3. After it’s on - press down the strings with your right hand
1 Like

Also with tall frets you might want to use a capo with adjustable tension. Shub, D’Addario…

4 Likes