Paul from Hereford, UK saying hi!

Hi everyone,
I’m Paul from rural Herefordshire here in the UK.
My guitar playing (sort of just beyond absolute beginner) has been a bit of a solitary experience so far - just me, with my laptop and guitar down in the basement, so I’d love to contact others who are learning too. I’ve started using justin’s lessons to improve my playing and broaden my repertoire. My wife can only listen to ’ Graffiti on a Train’ so many times!
I’m really playing as a hobby, but would love to be a little more confident and play at family gatherings, or even, one day, at an open mike event. My competence and confidence would really have to improve before that happens, but I feel that I need it as a target to ensure I keep up with my practice sessions.
I’m looking forward to sharing this little musical trip with the community!

4 Likes

Welcome to the community👍

Thanks, Michael - your meeting is much appreciated.

Welcome to the Community, Paul.

I think many of us have that experience of playing on our own with similar aspirations. The first way we bridge the gap is by sharing recordings in #record-yourself-progress-performance:audio-video-of-you-playing and later, when ready, we also have our Community Virtual Open Mic events #community-open-mic-events:community-open-mic-video-archives. Have a look at those and in time you can join in the fun.

1 Like

Hey Paul,

Welcome mate!
Glad you came out of the basement. :slightly_smiling_face:

You’re gonna find a whole new world here. People of all levels, from day one to seasoned pros. A terrific community, all helping each other out. No stress, no judgement, just encouragement. Gonna do alot for the confidence.
And alot of fun banter too :crazy_face:

Join in mate, and reach out out when you need help. I’d encourage you to post a video of you playing, when you’re ready.

All the best.
Cheers, Shane

Hello mate :slight_smile:

1 Like

Hello Paul and welcome to the community. :slight_smile: