Place to practice

Hi. I am a bedroom guitarist at the moment but I am sick of playing through headphones. Do you have any tips how to find free or cheap places to practice loud away from home?

4 Likes

Maybe at a silent corner of a park, or in the woods :thinking:.

I really like to play outside :slightly_smiling_face:.

1 Like

just use an acoustic

2 Likes

Thatā€™s not really a solution if I ever want to perform with my electric guitar and amp us it?

Iā€™m not sure where you are but Iā€™d look for local recording/practice studios which you usually book rooms by the hour at a not very expensive rate. Another alternative is local community halls which similarly offer the same sort of thing.

3 Likes

what does performing have to do with sitting in your bedroom? :thinking: practice is practice, no matter amplified or not.

A little more background on your circumstances would be helpful, so more meaningful advice can be given. I would follow @Rossco01 Jasonā€™s advice but if that is not possible, practicing without headphones is possible at lower volumes, why does it have to be ā€œloudā€ and what do you qualify as loud. Doors can be shut and practice times can be adjusted to avoid upsetting parents, siblings and partners, so you can explore all the options. (for example do you have access to a garage?).

@Richard_close2u @DavidP @LievenDV As this is not related to our COME can you guys move to a more appropriate Category. Thx.

:sunglasses:

1 Like

Hi there. I live in a semi-detached house with wife and kids in Herefordshire. I have 2 jobs to keep us going and I play guitar whenever I can. The problem is that it is usually in the evening/at night, occasionally on the weekend. I have a garage in a coach house - meaning there is no electricity and someone lives above it. I have a Katana MKII 50W and if I can I play at 0.5W but mostly through headphones. I am looking to go to open mic events and
a) I donā€™t want to get shocked by the volume of my amp