Playing songs without singing ok?

So I’m doing ok, I’m really enjoying playing and can play around 9 chords. Not perfect but ok… I also have “0” interest in singing so I usually play with the song I’m learning or playing the ones I know in the background.

When I jam with friends I’m happy with just being included in the jam. Someday I may try to sing I just find it hard so I’m happy with what I’m doing now…

Doe’s anyone else do this?

Rich

8 Likes

That’s exactly what I did when I started playing. Everyone said it’s harder to play and sing at the same time so I just played.

I have no interest in singing too, which presented itself as a problem recently, when I tried to get some gigs. Venues seem not interested in a solo guitar, no singing, performance :man_shrugging:

1 Like

Absolutely :smiley:
This is a guitar site. Everything else is optional.
The main thing is you enjoy yourself. :sunglasses:

1 Like

Singing while you’re playing comes easy for some people … while for a lot, it’s a bugger to get right. What you’re effectively doing is asking your brain to coordinate your picking hand, your fretting hand, and your voice … all together and in time … all at once. It’s not easy for a lot of people, myself included.

What does make it easier, is if what you’re playing is thoroughly learnt and committed to muscle memory. Then the process becomes semi automated to a degree … and allows your brain to pay more attention to other processes … like singing along.

So absolutely … Learn your guitar pieces and don’t worry about not singing along … That will definitely come easier later :+1:

5 Likes

You are jamming with friends - well that’s great, the best thing, making music with people.
If you fancy having a go at singing too - go for it. It’s free - you don’t even need to buy any extra gear :v:
Cheers
Ruaridh

1 Like

Really? How much later? Eight years in, and it hasn’t happened. :smile: