Recording Novice

Got this bad boy today. Not recorded other than off the MacBook webcam and microphone before. Iā€™m going to use it with the Scarlett 2i2. Any suggestions for a complete novice to recording ? Iā€™ve got software bundled with the Scarlett and also GarageBand with the Mac which looks probably a bit more user friendly? Any advice and tips welcomed :+1:

Garage band is a great way to start.

1 Like

Great mic for home recording :+1:

I donā€™t mess too much with the software suites but Tobyā€™s got a thread on mixing and loudness levels.

2 Likes

Iā€™m no expert, but my set up is very similar. Garageband is great, but thereā€™s a bit if a learning curve if youā€™ve not used DAWs before. Thereā€™s a ton of youtube tutorials out there though.
I expect your mic will need phantom power (which the 2i2 can provide - just remember to turn that on).
Probably easiest to plug it all in and see where (if anywhere) you get stuck, Iā€™m sure the collective brain will be able to sort you out.
Looking forward to seeing the first results!
Cheers
Paul.

1 Like

Cheers Dave, I knew there was a guide somewhere out there, thanks for sharing the link.:+1:

1 Like

Hi Ian,

A few days ago I sae that Focusrite will be running some events called Home Studio Recording Tour 2023.
I see that youā€™re in Scotland but as far as I can see those events are in England. I suppose you could keep an eye on them in case they do one somewhere close to you.
It could be interesting.

2 Likes

For anyone interested:

Sadly dates in South donā€™t work for me .

1 Like

Iā€™ve not long done a live mic recording on my PC with a Scarlet. If you have anything specific feel free to ask. Iā€™m far from great at this as that was my first few attempts too :slight_smile:

Youā€™ll need a mic stand, and XLR cable/s

If your scarlet is new you may have the option to download some free software from your scarlet account. If so, theres a free reverb plugin ā€œRelab LX480ā€ thats does an ok job.

R