So I spent 400 dollars on Ableton Live

Ive tinkered in a couple of DAWS but i love Ableton the most so i ended up investing in it instead of reaper ect. ( The Standard Versionā€¦) ( I get Ableton 12 for free when it releases) I just find it easier to use. Im kinda picky when it comes to DAWS. So i bit the bullet and went for Ableton and i love it. Heres The Chain cover I recorded and edited with Ableton. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LiWWLoOkHYQ I know you probably can do more with reaper and its alot cheaper (Reaper is Cheaper Oh yeah!) Just find Ableton more user friendly!! Im a beginner in DAWS, so thats why I went with it. My setup consists of Ableton, my two mics, akai keyboard for drums, OBS, Camera, My fender squire Bass, My Taylor Guitar, And my gaming computer LOL!!! Am I crazy for spending that much on a DAW? Thoughts?

1 Like

$400 for a great piece of software?

Why dont people value software as much as say a guitar or whatever? Plenty of skilled people spent a lot of time on it.

Thats what im saying!! I think its great and love it!!! Though I was just pondering if i should have went with reaper? Whats your opinion?

No idea on the cost or feature comparison but DAWs are complex programs and I think if one works for you better than others thats worth more than features you dont use or $ savings you dont need.

1 Like

Right! I get it! Thanks for your input!

1 Like

Ableton Live is a good, professional quality DAW with a lot of support, tutorials, et cetera.

Nice one Byron, I use Ableton as well. Although Iā€™m still using the version that came free with my Focusrite 2i2. I even bought reaper but went back to Ableton because like you say itā€™s more intuitive for me too.

Iā€™ve tried several of the available options. The free version of Ableton that came with my Focusrite Scarlett is the first that Iā€™ve been able to enjoy using.