Starting out in Kiwiland

Hi there. I’m starting out on my guitar journey as an older beginner down here in NZ. I’ve always been interested in a wide variety of music, but particularly acoustic styles where the ear can follow a particular instrument through the piece or song.

Decided it was time to jump into guitar as a form of hobby/relaxation so I’ve gone out and bought myself a Washburn DFB Dreadnought about six weeks ago, dived down several rabbit holes and decided that Justin’s method will be a good fit for me, so here I am. I’m finding the community posts are really useful and encouraging so I’m sure I’ll be able to keep at it (I have been called stubborn at times… :grin:).

Being an engineer by profession I couldn’t help myself and have already measured the action and tweaked the truss rod to make fretting a little easier (slightly high from the shop). Next up is a change to some lighter strings this weekend for further improvement and hunting for a stool with a back.

Short term goal - Smooth changes.
Medium term goal - Sufficient musicality for wife to revisit my banishment from the lounge when I have guitar in hand.

10 Likes

Welcome Malcolm @malreid! You’ve been exploring the community, so you already know you’re in good company as an “older beginner”. Looking forward to hearing from you as you progress on your guitar journey.

Welcome to Justin Guitar and the Community forum! Stubborn, eh? Well from an even older engineer, being stubborn at learning a cool new thing like guitar, is a good thing! :laughing:

Kia ora Malcolm, from a fellow Kiwi :wave: :smiley:

:joy:
Several years into my journey and that still has eventuated for me! :rofl:

Welcome to the forum Malcolm

I’m afraid no degree of skill can help with this one… :rofl:

Welcome to the community.

Hey Malcome good to see another kiwi here!

My ambition is for the cat to not look at me in disgust and walk out

When my wife started singing a song I was practicing, I knew I’d made progress!