Tendinitis

Well. As a doctor myself I think i overexerted myself, too much practice, now I have tendinitis in three of my left hand’s fingers. And have to rest from playing the guitar for several weeks.
Hope I don’t forget anything in the meanwhile.
That’s what happens when you ignore Justin advice #1. Don’t practice too much haha

:grimacing: Once your back up and playing try and keep your wrist as straight as possible. Holding the headstock of the guitar up a bit of and angle will help.

2 Likes

Django Reinhart was arguably the greatest guitarist there ever was and played with two fingers:)

1 Like

Pain in the fingers shown in the diagram (crosshatched)?

Also, please note the text highlighted in yellow.

1 Like

In my case it’s more like this:
images (8)_1

And yeah I have been paying attention to not make mistakes and having bad posture or wrong wrists angles and the like… It’s just…the day before the pain started I spent like 5 (?) Hours continuously playing :rofl:
And this is just my second (third?) Month playing it’s obvious this would happen.

More like these two, it seems

I’d suggest probing the muscles in your arm in the areas indicated by the black dots.

If you find knots or sore spots, massage with a knuckle, hard rubber ball, or massage gun could potentially cause almost immediate pain reduction in your fingers.

Happened to me too a few months ago after I could do the F barre chord and switch open chords quick enough for songs (100+bpm). The joy was so inspirational and motivating to play for hours. What’s worse was there were no warning signs. I had to stop playing for a week and could only put in some light playing for the next 2, and spent 1 week getting back to speed. So basically, 1 month with no progress, just some consolidation.

I’ve since learnt that I can’t play more than 3hrs a day without my old injuries flaring up. I also wake up to some soreness that go away after awhile.