Thegoog - February 2023 - This Year's Love (Feb 4) + First Cut Is The Deepest (Feb 26)

Hi, I’ve been playing this one for a few years after first learning it here on Justin Guitar. This, like my other videos, is a single take. When I played it back I noticed that I sped up a little over the course of the song, might have got a bit excited! I do love David Gray, I learnt Please Forgive Me from a Justin video and am currently working on Babylon. Please let me know what you think of this one.

Just added …

The First Cut Is The Deepest - Cat Stevens here

11 Likes

Enjoyed that very much, Greg. Can’t say if you sped up or not but did have a sense that you were playing louder as you progressed.

The video did cut-off abruptly. I always suggest pausing for a few seconds after finishing as the last notes fade, before moving to switch off the camera.

1 Like

Hey Greg, I enjoyed this one too :slight_smile:
Good job with a single take! I didn’t actually notice it speed up

Thanks, I noticed that too. Good advice, I’ll hopefully remember to do that next time!

1 Like

Nicely played and sung Greg.

1 Like

Well played Greg, I think your singing voice fits the song really well.

1 Like

Good stuff Greg. Confidently played and sung and your voice suited the song well.
The original is of course a piano song so the strumming pattern used is an open door. I felt the one you used was perhaps a bit repetitive and a change of pattern between the different sections might help the dynamic.
Looking forward to more from you.

1 Like

Really nice relaxed strumming. and great vocals Greg, well done!

1 Like

Thanks for the feedback. You’ve given me something to think about re mixing up the strumming pattern!

Thank you!

Thanks for the feedback!

Thank you for the feedback!

Good one, Greg! You added your embellishments which is what I watch for lately, since I need work on them, which helps me in my own progress.

1 Like

Thanks for your feedback, I appreciate it!