Vinnie's Learning Log

#1 - Hello, and welcome to my JustinGuitar Learning Log.

A little about me - I worked in higher ed for 34 years, a combination of project coordinator for a grant that helped K-12 get technology in the classroom. I edited a cartoon newspaper feature for kids for 5 years. And then I was a web designer/developer for an electron microscopy lab at UC San Diego for 7 years. I spent most of my time studying to be an English professor, but I crapped out of the Ph.D. studies after 8 years (long story) and didnā€™t finished a second M.A. in Linguistics, but I taught English composition/writing at 8 colleges and universities in every time zone of the continental United States for 23 years, both in person and online, hundreds of classes and thousands of students. A hostile student and an institution that wouldnā€™t support me (student was violent and the institution said she could stay in the class because ā€œshe had paid for itā€) finally made me quit, at which point I was freed from endless grading and started my writing career. I just finished a memoir (started Oct 31, 2018 and finished Jan 14, 2022). Itā€™s been a long, bumpy rideā€¦ Iā€™m sure Iā€™ll discuss some of it here. And when/if the book gets published, yā€™all will get a link to it, of course. Thatā€™ the short story. I was born in southern California, in the Valley, like ya know, just over the hill from Hollywood, and Iā€™m now in the suburbs of Atlanta, Georgia.