What picks do you use?

When I started learning guitar I used thin picks as recommended by Justin. Dunlop nylon white .38 & white .46. These thin picks are great when you start out of course as they’re very forgiving. But you quickly realise that their ease of use comes at a price. They sound terrible! You get a flappy, clicky sound from them.

As my playing improves I’ve worked up to thicker picks. Dunlop tortex red .50 for quite a long time and now currently tortex orange .60 for ‘strummy’ acoustic songs and tortex yellow .73 for ones that need a bit of picking. I use tortex green .88 on my electric.
(why do they come in these weird thicknesses?).

A couple of months ago I started trying my hand at lead improv on my electric and have been using a Dunlop tortex purple 1.14, which I really like for that purpose.

Today I accidentally used this thicker pick to strum my acoustic. Wow, what a lovely rich tone!

I may have to rethink all this and not be so set in my ways and experiment a bit more.
Maybe not a coin like Brian May though, I don’t want to tear my new strings to shreds! :grinning:

5 Likes

I like the Dunlop tortex picks, too. I use the same ones you mentioned (i.e. orange, yellow, and green). I also like the red Dunlop Jazz III picks sometimes. I’ve tried thumbpicks a few times. Takes some adjustment, but they’re okay. They never caught on with me, though.

3 Likes

Green tortex for picking, orange for strumming

3 Likes

I’m currently enjoying using an Duragrip pick, which I think is .65mm. It feels good in the fingers and has a textured surface so finding it easiest of all I’ve tried to keep a grip of, without gripping too tight

2 Likes

Dunlop Tortex for me.
Orange .60mm Tortex for pretty much everything on acoustic
Black 1.35mm Jazz 3xl Tortex for electric.

However I did follow Justin’s recommendation yesterday when playing “Learning to Fly” and went back to the .46mm Nylon for that.