What should I memorise

Hi,

I I’m a beginner but would like to understand the fretboard the fretboard and theory to apply to my songwriting in particular,

My goals are to be able to write in any key, major or minor, know common chord progressions, like 1,4,5 etc etc to enhance my songwriting. Know which chords go with which keys.

I wondered what I should memorise, I’ve written down the major scale for each key and memorised what notes are in each. What else should I memorise, I’ve got a good memory just don’t know where my time is best spent applying it.

Should I write out the minor scale also in each key on a grid and remember that. Or should I be able to work it out in my head by knowing the 3rd note is flattened. It’s a bit heady for me to do this, but I can do it slowly. Should I know which notes are in the minor scale on the fly?

Should I know off the top of my head which is the 1 3 5 in each major or 1 flattened 3 5 in each major and minor key, or even in all the variations of different minor scales, melodic etc it seems like such a large volume of information to remember at this stage, but if thats what people do so be it, just don’t want to waste my time.

Obviously memorise the notes on fretboard.

Should I learn the scale formula’s off top of my head for all the minor keys, or just know patterns?

I find patterns a lot easier.

I’d love to be able to do this on the fly on guitar, but not sure I can get to that level. I am happy but just slowly working it out as I go, to enhance my songs with different chords, I’d also like to know how I can branch off into chords which aren’t typically in the key but still work,

Is patterns the way to go or memorise everything off the top of my head?

I just want to have the knowledge to enhance my songs, know which key I am working in, what scale I can play over my song, and even to slowly be able to work all this out.

Does everyone get a bit overwhelmed or is it all easy once you get into it.