Wish You Were Here [1/4] by Pink Floyd Lesson

Learn to play Wish You Were Here [1/4] by Pink Floyd on JustinGuitar!

View the full lesson at Wish You Were Here [1/4] by Pink Floyd | JustinGuitar

What does “Gtr.3: Open G tuning:” mean?
I’m interpreting it as meaning one of the guitars used in the song is tuned to open G.
Or…does it mean I should tune the guitar I’m playing on to open G?

1 Like

Nevermind…I figured it out.

1 Like

Shouldn’t this be classified as a grade 2 song since it is the featured riff song in module 8.
Not a big deal, but I thought that total newbies would be less intimidated by the intro after Justin’s excellent intro in module 8.

1 Like

Hi all, I’m a newbie and I’ve just reached module 8. I have learnt the riff taught in module 8 but watching this, it seems a little bit different. I’d like to eventually learn the whole song so should I stick to the riff version in module 8 or try to learn this version so that I can continue learning the song? Does anyone have any tips or suggestions? Thank you!

1 Like

Welcome to the forum Ceylan the version taught in module 8 is a simplified version for beginners.
Here’s what it says on the lesson page “This simplified riff version is almost the same as the original.”

If you want to play the whole song in the future you may want to tackle the version taught in the Wish You Were Here Lessons. You will find it a bit harder than the simplified version but I think learning it the correct way will benefit you in the long run. Just remember to take it slow and be patient. Don’t let it frustrate it is a tricky Riff to get right but well worth the effort.

3 Likes