Would you recommend hybrid/crossover guitar for beginners

Hi guys,

I started learning the guitar about a week ago, I’m using an old classic guitar (20-30 years old) I had at home, and wanted to buy a new classic guitar. I saw there are “hybrid” guitars, also called “crossover” or “fusion” on different brands, where the NUT is narrower (mostly around 48mm instead of the standard 52mm). This should make them closer to the Acoustic guitars or Electric guitars (there are even models with 43mm NUT), but with nylon strings which are softer.
I wondered if that would be a good first guitar to learn on… It should be easier to reach the higher strings with a narrower NUT. But it would also mean the strings would be closer together, so would it be more difficult to press a single string…?
I guess the transition from a narrow NUT guitar to an Acoustic guitar or Electric guitar would be easier, no? Or is the transition from 48mm to 44mm still very large and would need a lot of practice?
What do you think about those guitars?

1 Like

While I’ve never tried a “hybrid” guitar, I have tried narrow neck and wide neck guitars early in my journey. I was searching for a neck that was easier to play for my beginner’s hands.

I was disappointed with both. Narrow neck was more difficult to fret and wide neck was more difficult to pick.

The biggest improvement in my playing comfort that accelerated my learning was using a more traditional neck width, changing string gauge down to .008”-.036 on my electric guitar and having a proper setup done to the guitar. As my hand strengthened, callouses grew, and playing ability increased, I moved up to .009s and then .010s.

Unless the beginner has really small hands and/or thin fingers, I would not suggest a narrow neck.

YMMV

1 Like

Carry on using that for a while it’ll be fine until you know more what you want.