Acoustic String Choices for Beginners?

I’m not an absolute beginner, but I always wondered what were the best choices for beginners.
Lots of choices too-
Coated/Uncoated
What Gauge
String material
Light/Medium
I’m sure there lots of other things to consider as well
Beginners need all the help they can get, perhaps the most important thing the least amount of roadblocks. Only way to get good is to keep at it.
So the easiest string to play is to me at least, the most important.

Are you playing acoustic or electric?

I am no expert but have been slowly experimenting.

Lighter strings are easier, in general. There are low tension strings which are easier and can be a little thicker if you prefer that. It all depends.

Strings aren’t too expensive, so experiment.

If you are just starting, maybe 9s on an electric and 10s on acoustic. Coatings help string last and reduce string noise (sliding), so I wouldn’t worry much about that at this stage. Same with tone, it is a bit early to worry about the tone, although if you have a strong preference include a consideration for how bright or warm they may be.

1 Like

I agree with @Jamolay in terms of gauge.

I’d suggest coated. I think the extra longevity will be worthwhile as a beginner when you probably won’t be playing so many hours per day that you need to change strings frequently from a played-on perspective. Then the extra protection from the elements will be of benefit.

But if your strings last a long time, you don’t get to try anything else out! :wink:

I have wasted some perfectly good sets of strings by changing just for the heck of it.

Currently I like “Straight up Strings” low tension 12s on the acoustic, with a set of GHS thin core (round) PB 12s (also low tension) to try next.

I have been using pure nickel 11s (various brands) on the electric but prefer them tuned flat to reduce tension. Eventually I will move back to 10s.