First AVOYP- Chocolate Jesus

Enough lurking, time to become more active in this community! I’ve been learning from Justin for a little over 2 years, and this is my first AVOYP. I’m not posting this one to showcase my best playing. I’m starting with this one because it’s fun for me to play and sing (even if my voice isn’t the greatest). I had already recorded it when I realized someone else recently uploaded the same song. I guess it’s more popular than I thought!

Anyway, This is me learning to sing and do alternate finger picking. I did a slower version, but I feel more confident with this tempo. I flubbed the last verse both times. :frowning: A metronome can help me keep a steady tempo, but I’d love to hear any advice about maintaining the rhythm throughout the song. Also, I’m open to suggestions for a better way to play the bridge. This is a work in progress, so I’d appreciate any constructive feedback.

Although I’m amazed at all the things I’ve learned in this time, I feel like I have become incredibly “so-so” at a ton of skills. I really want to move forward to the next level, and I think one of the keys is going to be spending more time working with others.

I’m not sure if there’s anything else I should say. Like I said, I do want to become more involved here, so just ask if you have questions I haven’t answered. -Donna

42 Likes

Hi Donna that was fantastic introduction into AVOYP, well done! I think your performance was really entertaining and theatrical alike, you have put up the full show and with all the joy and smiling splashing to the camera I really had a blast :grinning:

For 2.5 years you are doing really well I shall say. It is definitely not an easy song to play AND sing along to but you managed to put up a great share with us.