First post, first AVOYP - Driver 8/REM

Hi

So this is my first post on the JG forums, so a very brief introduction:

I got my first guitar in the late 80s. I was totally self-taught, and picked up basic cowboy chords from a teach yourself guitar book. I never got very far with it; that guitar mostly sat unused in a closet for the last 20+ years.

Back in the fall of 2023, I decided that I’d really like to spend some time and energy learning to play, and found my way to JustinGuitar. I started with Grade 1 at the beginning of November, and finished Grade 2 a couple of weeks ago.

I also treated myself to a NGD about a month ago, finally upgrading my old beater guitar for something I really love (Martin SC-10e in sapele, for any folks who care about such things).

Anyway, I thought I’d bite the bullet and try posting a video. I’m thrilled with the progress I’ve made in five months, and look forward to progressing to Grade 3 once I’ve spent some more time consolidating.

Finally - I picked Driver 8 not only because I love the song, but because it seemed to incorporate so many of the skills I’ve been working on - strumming variation, slash chords, muting the low E string, sus chords, and playing by feel/without looking.

17 Likes

That was really great Andrew. You’ve clearly put in a load of work over the past months. As you said, you’ve incorporated all the different skills you’ve learned into that song. Great choice of song.
Great strum pattern and loads of dynamics in your guitar play and a super vocal too.

I’m not so sure about the low E string mutes though. Either the string is out of tune or your mutes are not quite right and you’re playing the string.

Great debut and I look forward to more from you.

2 Likes

Thanks for the feedback! I suspect I wasn’t getting the mutes quite right and hitting the low E when I didn’t want to (mostly while playing the D in the chorus).

Andrew