Half the World Away - My First AVOYP

Hello you lovely lot, happy to report that I finally did my first AVOYP! :grinning:

I’ve been learning with Justin since 2018 and played a bit when I was a kid. I never, ever, play in front of an audience so I really need to get some more practice in. As you can see, the song was going OK until I made a small mistake at the end and then sign posted that to the audience. :joy:

Anyway, have a gander and please give me some pointers for improving.
Thank you so much everyone :grinning:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cEofCyFJNck

32 Likes

That was terrific Liane-Rose. What a debut AVoYP performance! Beautiful vocal and super guitar work. Fingerstyle, strumming, percussion, you gave us it all. Well done, fingerstyle and singing is not easy.

As for the fluff at the end if you hadn’t signalled it no one would have noticed. Anyway, you laughed and made a face and that gave the performance a natural feel. It’s a case of seeing the finishing line coming up and losing concentration. :smiley:

I look forward to more from you.

1 Like

Hey Liane-Rose - what can I say… I didn’t like it… I loved that performance… I’ve been a huge Oasis fan all my life and you done that song more than justice… (in fact I think I prefer your version than Noel’s version)… your finger picking during the verses was superb and then the dynamics with the strumming and percussion in the chorus a fantastic touch… and a cheeky we tap on the guitar too… your vocals were great and really captured the essence of the song… and to top that off you smiled throughout the performance… no red light syndrome… you came across as a natural performer… I’m going to have to watch that performance a few times now to try and learn the song the way you played it. I look forward to hearing more from you.

You may want to check out the forum open mic which is held every 6-8 weeks.

@Notter @KevinKevan one for the Oasis fans on the forum to watch

2 Likes