Hello from Cathy in Bishop Auckland

Hello everyone. I’m Cathy, a professional violinist from north-east England. I’ve had a guitar for years, but never learnt to play it properly, so I’m now giving it a go. Have to admit, I’m skipping the theory lessons, mostly because I’ve got a degree in this stuff anyway - but the practical, technical lessons on actually playing the instrument are very good indeed, and I’m loving doing them.

21 Likes

Welcome Cathy, You probably have a good head start with your background.

2 Likes

My background is certainly helping, as I understand all the music stuff - but violinists tend to find guitar pretty challenging as the hand shape is so different, so I’ll see how I go. Cautiously optimistic at the moment.

1 Like

Welcome to the forum Cathy.

2 Likes

Cathy @CathyEdmunds

Welcome to the community from a fellow North Easterner.
At least you can put a tick in the theory box.
Not sure I should be saying this, as I am only in Grade 4 of Justin’s Practical Theory Course but I would concentrate intially on playing the guitar and learning to play songs rather trying to apply your theory to what you are doing.
Look forward to hearing how you get on.
Michael :+1::guitar::notes:

2 Likes

Hi Mat - don’t worry, I won’t be ‘applying my theory’. It’s all instinctive by now, luckily. The only time I think about it is when I teach it. After a certain point, it all goes on in some background part of your brain, a bit like balancing when riding a bike without having to think about it.

It’s interesting playing the guitar when I’m so used to violin. I can rattle off scales easily enough, but ask me to change quickly to a full F barre chord and I panic :rofl:

1 Like

Welcome Cathy, you are in a great place to begin your guitar journey. Have fun.

2 Likes

Thank you, I’m sure I will :grinning:

1 Like

Thank you :grinning:

1 Like

Welcome, @CathyEdmunds !

2 Likes

Cathy @CathyEdmunds

If you thinking about F barre chord you must be into Grade 2.