Hello from Zack - 28 yo, 4+ years playing from absolute beginner using JustinGuitar

Hi All,

I recently shared my original music on the AVOYP section (25 original songs; Really proud of them! Started playing in 2019 using JustinGuitar) and some kind members suggested I introduce myself. Here goes.

I am a 28 year old male living outside of DC in Maryland. I grew up and spent 21 years in Pittsburgh. I am an accountant by day. Following passing the CPA exams in the winter of 2018, I got a lot of time back; I figured there was no better time to begin learning guitar. I was drawn to music by Jack Johnson, Jason Mraz, and pretty much all 90s pop rock. I loved the sound of the acoustic guitar and the infinite, cool sounds it could make. Often, my favorite version of a song is the one with only the artist and an acoustic guitar. On YouTube, I find myself searching “[music artist] live acoustic.”

I’m not exactly sure how I discovered JustinGuitar, but I think it was a simple Internet search. From his first video, he came across like an old friend wanting to lend a hand, expecting nothing in return. His message that guitar will be at times difficult and frustrating, but overcoming those moments is where real growth and achievement are resonated with me on a foundational level. It’s analogous to most things in life, be it fitness, relationships, or hobbies/skills.