Hi, from Mark in Norfolk

I’ve been attempting to learn guitar now for about 3 years. And to be honest it’s been a struggle.
I’m currently working my way through module 8 of the beginners course (for the second time), and this time I feel that I’m actually making some progress.
What always made things demoralising for me in the past is my inability to do clean chord changes while playing along to a song in the app. Lately however I seem to be getting somewhere.
I’ve also enrolled in the ‘class of 23’ but unfortunately that’s come to nothing as I don’t do Facebook.
Guess I’ll continue my struggle as before, but hopefully this time achieve greatness :sweat_smile:

11 Likes

Hi Mark and welcome. Stick with it and the results will come. Look forward to hearing about your progress.

1 Like

Hi @firebee ,
I am not familiar with the modules.
I have been playing guitar for more than 50 years now, and simply love it.
I am far from being close to my guitar idols like Eric Clapton, and James Taylor, etc.
Guitar learning is ongoing for me.
You are on the correct path, and the key is to get over your current hump, which in my opinion, is your ability to change chords cleanly and efficiently.
In my experience, a most helpful method of learning is “singing and playing” your favorite songs.
All you really need is to “sing and play” songs that are “3-chord songs”, which has 3 chords, and are actually defined as I-IV-V chord progressions, which hundreds and hundreds of songs are made of.
Chord sets like D-G-A, A-D-E, to start. And these chords are quite easy to execute.
If you ask me, simple and familiar songs like, Mary Had A Little Lamb, Doe A Deer A Female Deer (Do-Re-Mi), and the simple songs that you might be familiar are great places to start.