Peter's Learning Log with Rorystrat

This is my new learning journey. I initially started with Justin’s course about 3-4 years ago prompted by a new guitar acquisition but stopped for some reason. I paid for the Music Theory course but see I never completed it! Gotta go back and do this and now I’ve reached retirement age, I have more time so can devote more to developing my guitar skills.

I have definite goals which are to perfect the styles I want to play. But before that I need to make sure I’ve got the basics down, so it’s back to basics for me. I intend to run through the whole course from start to finish ensuring I have not missed any gems. The website seems to remember some of the old content I studied but I must avoid the temptation of dipping in and out and/or racing ahead.

By way of background I’ve been playing on and off since I was a teenager. I started at 14 when I lived in Germany and, like many back then, learned the basics from Bert Weedon’s book “Play in a Day” thought I got on a trip back home. I’ve never had any lessons and just picked things up along the way and from a few books. I returned to England at the age of 17, 3 years later complete with Fender Stratocaster, by which time I knew the chromatic scale, minor pentatonic (Blues Scale) and surprisingly the major pentatonic which I’d learnt from Allman Bros records. I did not call it that, just thought of it as a Country Music scale. I did not yet know how to mix those scales, which came later. I’d got most chords down including barre chords but minor 7th, 9ths, 11ths, 13ths were in the future. I’ve had various episodes of playing since.