Playing live and nerves

I found with the first OM I did, I was a little nervous but not to bad, I got through and if I recall I didn’t make any mistakes.

Second OM I set off and the nerves were okay, then as I was playing they really kicked in, making me do an incorrect chord change.

Third OM as soon as I started playing the nerves were there and I know I made several mistakes whilst playing.

How is it, when I know I’m in a safe and supportive environment that my nerves are getting worse, to the point of it spoiling my enjoyment of playing live?

Is there anything I can do to stop this? What do you guys do to ease your nerves whilst playing?

I will add, I’m not nervous before hand, it just seems to start now when I start playing.

8 Likes

Maybe you’re playing more complex songs? Maybe it’s performance anxiety that you did well previous times and you want to live up to that?

I’ve only done two. First one I was nervous beforehand and hands sweaty and wooden during. This one I wasn’t nervous beforehand, but nerves kicked in when I started playing- made some mistakes etc - and got more relaxed as it went on.

No idea on the psychology behind this stuff though.

3 Likes

That’s what triggered open mic performance anxiety for me.

I changed and made sure my first song is a slow and easy one.

4 Likes

Possibly just the peaks and troughs of doing something live.

It’s not quite the same specific thing but when I started doing big customer briefings in a work environment I was horrendously nervous despite knowing my stuff, gradually got better but I will still find that sometimes I’ll have nasty nerves during a session now some 20 years after starting to do them.

Do you play in front of family / friends at all? How do you find yourself in that environment?

4 Likes

An interesting and important topic @SgtColon
I found my first OM, my hands were like concrete, and I was super nervous.
This second OM, no concrete hands, but still pretty nervous.