SWEET HOME ALABAMA (Lynyrd Skynyrd)

I’ve always liked the sound of this song, and never gave much thought to the lyrics. I really didn’t understand the reference to Neil Young until I started learning the song and did a bit of research.
This song was written in response to Neil Young’s songs “Alabama” and “Southern Man”, in which Mr. Young took the South to task for slavery and the aftermath. You can read the whole story here, under the “Conflict” section: Sweet Home Alabama - Wikipedia
For some reason the volume seems a bit low on this, so you might have to boost it a bit. I was 0.8 db off the mark but the level seems low to me.
I only videoed the riff/rhythm track, so my aplolgy if it’s a bit boring.
Guitars and bass > Strat
Drums played on keyboard through MT Power Drums
Piano played on keyboard through Addictive Keys (Funky upright)

Feedback always welcomed.

23 Likes

Loved it Dave. Been working on this off and on but slow fingers are hampering progress but I’ll get there one day. There was a lot of hyped up acrimony about Ronnie and Neil because of the song but as I recall it was more the music media stoking the fires. Great song, great cover.

:sunglasses:

Hey Dave,

Nice production mate. Well done.
Been at this one a fair while myself - lots of moving parts, but fun.

Cheers, Shane

1 Like

Hi Dave,
Nice job, you put the whole song together yourself…man that`s great :sunglasses: :clap:

Just like the gentlemen above, I’m also working on this song… the beginning is already fine…I find the rest a bit less to practice because I don’t sing or want to record it…but for me the most fun is in the beginning …I’ll post that in some thread some day…
Greetings,Rogier

Hi Dave,

Great tune & a great job.
Loving the lead work. Tone is really nice.
And piano - awesome.

Definitely have the voice for the song.

Brill all round.
Digger

Hi Dave,

wow! That’s a great rendition of the song, very well done! :clap: