WM's Long Way To The Top - Log

Hello! My re-introduction post is HERE if you wish to read that.

Since I’ve been a beginner before, I zoomed through all modules of Grade 1 of the Beginner’s Course and will hang out at the end until I feel I’m where I need to be. I know how to form the chords, strum, etc; I just need to remind my hands how to do them and build the callouses! It’s also good to have watched the videos and played along with Justin to ensure I am not fooling myself with my technique or anything else. If I’m going to re-start, I may as well re-start on the right foot, right?

While I am making Beginner, Grade 1 solid, I will also re-start work on the Major Scale and knowing the fretboard.

One of my goals before I had hand surgery was to slow down on the “learning things” to actually play songs. I want to learn set of songs (my songbook) up to my current level and then add complexity as I progress through the courses and modules. Ultimately I’d like to be able to sing some songs as well, something I’ve never been able to do. When at the beach or around the fire, I’ve always just banged out some chords, never sang. And drank heavily, let’s not forget that.

So … here we go!

10 Likes

At the end of Beginner - Grade 1, where I will be hanging out for a while, I used the provided practice plan for my daily. Traditionally, I’ve been a “Know a bunch, can play not much” kind of person. To fix that, I have chosen three songs and will not move on to Grade 2 until I can play them to “Grade 1 Ability”, or what I feel I personally should be able to do after Grade 1. I’ve chosen three (well, two) songs that I’d like to eventually learn how to sing, so I’d better be able to play them well, right? I also have Major Scale - Pattern 1 on my list and will use it for alternate picking practice.

1 Beginner Finger Stretch 1’ - 1 mins
2 Alternate Picking Single String - 1 mins
3 Chord Perfect: G - 2 mins
4 Chord Perfect: ANY! - 1 mins
5 One Minute Changes: G to C - 1 mins