15 Character Title Limit

Can we please remove or reduce the 15 character limit on topic titles? I understand why a limit is in place, but 15 characters is far, far too many. 8 would be more than enough to prevent the kind of issues the limit is there to address.

Thanks for the feedback, Ross.

I have no idea if this is configurable or now.

@LievenDV, can you comment on this?

Itā€™s definitely configurable in other forum back ends Iā€™ve used, though I have no direct experience with this one. Likely an admin-only option.

1 Like

Iā€™m not sure where youā€™re coming from here @goffik truth be told.

Your title to this topic (including spaces) is 24.
Sometimes (often perhaps) we need longer topic titles.
I donā€™t know why that would be seen as an issue.

Richard

I believe he is referring to the minimum number of characters, not the max. Reading between the lines that is.

:sunglasses:

1 Like

Minimum limit, not maximum. Itā€™s in place to prevent silly, uninformative titles like ā€œHelp!!!ā€ I expect, but 15 characters is too many. You have to artificially inflate perfectly good thread titles. An 8 character minimum would do the job in 99% of cases.

:joy:
Iā€™m so glad you posted this Richard,ā€¦I was already counting characters yesterday and wanted to ask what exactly he meantā€¦but after reading 3 times the penny dropped for me :sweat_smile:ā€¦ but you do have a point @Goffik
Greetings,Rogier

True. Maybe the limit was to prevent uninformative titles like Please Help!

1 Like

Iā€™m so glad you donā€™t work for Baywatchā€¦

:grimacing: :joy:

3 Likes

Me tooā€¦ as I canā€™t swimā€¦ the oneā€™s needing rescued would be rescuing me :roll_eyes:

2 Likes