A-ha Take on Me

This was meant to be my open mic submission for the last open mic but…life got in the way. So I made a little recording to share here. I admit it was about 5 takes until i got one start to finish that I felt good about - each one a bit different than the last (which is part of the fun of getting a song to the point where it can lead me where it wants to go in the moment). My voice was much stronger one take 1 :).

This is one of my favorite songs of all time - never imagined I’d be singing it and recording an acoustic guitar version.

Also I’m a noob when it comes to using mics and video editing. Trying to keep it simple - just a touch of reverb and compression and getting rid of background hum on the audio. There was some gremlin in the audio track that I couldn’t remove (especially pronounced on the opening single notes) but I liked the rest of the sound enough that I just kept it as is.

I’m using Reaper for sound and editing the video together with Da Vinci. Mic is a single Audio Technica at2020 compressor through a Scarlett 2i2. For anyone with similar setups any advice is appreciated at getting the tone cleaned up and any particular effects that you like to use.

25 Likes

Hello,

I’m old enough to remember this song-nice choice. I think you did a great job with a nice and steady rhythm. My video production skills need work so I have no room to talk-no complaints on a humming sound from me. You are very talented and thanks for sharing.

Jeff

Bravo, Jesse, my immediate sense is that this is your best performance and recording to date. A classic synth pop tune from the 80s and your acoustic rendition sounded good, plus some fine singing. Well done.

Very nice Jesse! - a perfect Aha Unplugged