Sairfingers’ Learning Log

I originally posted and started this Road Case, now Learning Log, on the ‘old forum’ on the 11th Feb 2021.

Chapter 1

11th Feb 2018. I started my guitar ‘journey’ 3 years ago today. How can I be so exact I hear you ask! (you probably aren’t but I’ll tell you anyway).

My wife and I were visiting our son and his family who live a couple of hours away. He has been into guitar for quite a few years starting while at university. He is self taught using internet tuition (not Justin I’m afraid) and over the years has become pretty good. So much so that at his wedding in 2013 he got up on stage with the band and played the lead parts of ‘Sweet Child O’ Mine’ on a Gibson Flying V that he had at the time. We all thought it was terrific but he is critical when he looks back at videos of himself playing. Sounds familiar! It was the first time he’d ever played with anyone else. He’s still doesn’t play in a band as work and family commitments keep him too busy but he’s perfectly happy being a home hobby player.

Anyway, at some point during our visit he was showing me some licks and things on his new guitar, a beautiful Martin Eric Clapton 000-28. “Why don’t you take my old acoustic home (a Sigma acoustic) and see how you get on, you’ve always wanted to learn”. And so I did.

The first thing I did when I got back home was print out a chord diagram sheet from the internet. I still use it, now covered in notes and additional hand drawn chords. At the bottom of the print out is the date. 11th Feb 2018.

Re: sairfinger’s Road Case](JustinGuitar Community)

« Reply #4 on: February 11, 2021, 01:36:11 pm »

Keep that chord diagram sheet with your notes, Gordon-
It’ll be worth a small fortune when you hit the big time! 8)
(alternatively, you can also just keep it as a reference…)

Happy third. (minor I guess?)
I do believe I’m hot on your heels but will have to check social media.
Are we not due another ditty soon?

Chapter 2